Disney After Hours at Walt Disney World- Everything You Need to Know

Disney After Hours is a special ticketed event for guests to enjoy either Magic Kingdom or Animal Kingdom Park for extended hours after the park closes. For some guests this can be a great way to enjoy additional time in the parks with low crowd levels. Our guide has you covered from full event information and cost, tips and strategies, and whether this option is best for your group.

Save on your Disney World Vacation! Walt Disney World Vacation Savings – Exclusive for MickeyVisit.com Guests! Take all the guesswork out of booking your Walt Disney World vacation while saving lots of money when booking through Get Away Today! Save on package deals, Disney World tickets, hotels, and much more! We negotiated the lowest prices so book now!

Disney After Hours Event Cost and Basic InformationThe Tree of Life has the face of a lion projected on its trunk with lights shooting from the top of the branches as a crowd watches below

Disney After Hours at Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom Cost:

  • Tickets can be purchased in advance for $129 per adult or child or on the day of the event for $139 per adult or child. Annual Passholders and Disney Vacation Club Members can take advantage of specially priced advance-purchase tickets for $99 per adult or child.
  • Only a limited number of tickets are available for each event.

Disney Villains After Hours at Magic Kingdom Cost:

  • Tickets can be purchased in advance for $145 per adult or child or on the day of the event for $155 per adult or child. Annual Passholders and Disney Vacation Club Members can take advantage of specially priced advance-purchase tickets for $115 per adult or child.
  • Only a limited number of tickets are available for each event.

These prices are for tickets bought in advance online on the Walt Disney World website. Expect to pay higher prices if you purchase on-site on the day of the event. And since these events do sell out, we recommend purchasing in advance regardless!

Disney After Hours- Time and Length Information

  • Guests with Disney After Hours tickets can enter the park where the event is located at 7:00 PM on that night. Check the details of your ticket for event times as they differ between parks and dates.
  • Guests with Disney After Hours tickets will be allowed to stay in the park to midnight or 1AM (depending on the event) giving you at least five hours of park time.
  • You'll scan your MagicBand or park ticket with the cast members and be given a special After Hours wristband to wear during the event.
  • Limited numbers of tickets are sold for these events so there are no significant waits for any of the open attractions which is the main appeal of this event.
  • Since you can enter at 7PM and the event doesn't officially begin until 9PM that means you can enjoy things not included in the party like fireworks, attractions that won't be open for the event, etc.

As you can see, there are definitely some perks to enjoying this event. I wouldn't recommend using an After Hours ticket on a day you already have a ticket to the park though.

Disney After Hours at Magic KingdomCinderella Castle at night for the Disney After Hours Event

The attractions and experiences available during the After Hours events in Magic Kingdom are specified as:

You can also likely plan for a Mickey Mouse and Tinker Belle meet and greet option at Town Square Theater.

Any attractions, shows, or character experiences not on this list are not available during the After Hours event. If you have things in mind, such as fireworks, that aren't included plan on getting to the park right at 7PM when you're allowed to enter to cross those items off your list.

Disney After Hours in Animal KingdomPandora at Animal Kingdom

The attractions and experiences available during the After Hours events in Animal Kingdom are specified as:

Disney's Animal Kingdom Theme Park

Any attractions, shows, or character experiences not on this list are not available during the After Hours event. If you have things in mind that aren't included plan on getting to the park right at 7PM when you're allowed to enter to cross those items off your list.

Disney Villains After Hours in Magic KingdomMaleficent, Hades, Meg, The Queen, Jafar and Doctor Facilier pose on stage in front of Cinderella Castle

Disney Villains After Hours in Magic Kingdom comes with all the regular access to attractions open during other Disney After Hours events but with a special twist of villain themed entertainment in fun!

The event offers this villainous entertainment in addition to attractions:

  • Villains Unite the Night—a 20-plus minute stage show in front of Cinderella Castle starring Hades, Meg, The Queen, Maleficent, Jafar and other villains.
  • Maleficent- the fire breathing dragon from Sleeping Beauty travels through the park at night.
  • “Villanous Enhancements” to attractions like Pirates of the Caribbean and Space Mountain.
  •  Event-themed, limited merchandise plus a curated collection of Villains available for purchase.
  • In addition to the regular food included like popcorn and ice cream, there will also be villain themed food and beverages available for purchase.
  • Villain inspired costumes are encouraged as long as they follow the dress code and costume guidelines.

Keep in mind that this event does not offer special villain meet and greets though!

Food Options during After Hours Eventsdisney world popcorn

Most dining options are not open during the event but that's not an issue since treats are included with the cost of your admission. You can find plenty of carts and kiosks scattered throughout the event offering unlimited ice cream, popcorn, and bottled drinks. In Magic Kingdom, you also have the option of purchasing select menu items from the Main Street Bakery.

2019-2020 Disney After Hours DatesDisney After Hours at Walt Disney World

Disney After Hours at Magic Kingdom

The event takes place from 10PM to 1AM on the following dates:

  • Monday, November 18, 2019
  • Monday, December 9, 2019
  • Monday, March 9, 2020
  • Monday, March 16, 2020
  • Monday, March 23, 2020
  • Monday, March 30, 2020
  • Sunday, April 5, 2020
  • Monday, April 13, 2020
  • Monday, April 20, 2020
  • Monday, April 27, 2020
  • Tuesday, May 5, 2020
  • Monday, May 25, 2020

The event takes place from 9PM to midnight on the following dates:

  • Friday, January 17, 2020
  • Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Monday, February 3, 2020
  • Monday, February 10, 2020
  • Monday, February 17, 2020
  • Monday, February 24, 2020
  • Monday, May 11, 2020
  • Monday, May 18, 2020

The event takes place from 8PM to 11PM on the following dates:

  • Monday, January 6, 2020
  • Monday, January 13, 2020
  • Thursday, January 23, 2020
  • Monday, January 27, 2020
  • Friday, January 31, 2020
  • Monday, March 2, 2020

Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom

The event takes place from 9PM  to midnight on these dates:

  • Tuesday, November 5, 2019
  • Wednesday, November 13, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 19, 2019
  • Saturday, December 7, 2019
  • Saturday, December 14, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 18, 2019
  • Thursday, January 9, 2020
  • Thursday, January 16, 2020
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020
  • Thursday, January 30, 2020
  • Thursday, February 6, 2020
  • Thursday, February 13, 2020
  • Wednesday, February 19, 2020
  • Thursday, February 27, 2020
  • Thursday, March 5, 2020
  • Thursday, March 19, 2020
  • Thursday, March 26, 2020
  • Wednesday, April 1, 2020
  • Tuesday, April 7, 2020
  • Tuesday, April 14, 2020
  • Wednesday, April 22, 2020
  • Saturday, May 2, 2020
  • Saturday, May 9, 2020
  • Saturday, May 16, 2020
  • Tuesday, May 19, 2020
  • Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Disney Villains After Hours at Magic Kingdom

Disney Villains After Hours takes place from 9PM to midnight on the following dates:

  • Friday, February 7, 2020
  • Friday, February 21, 2020
  • Friday, March 6, 2020

Disney Villains After Hours takes place from 10PM to 1AM on the following dates:

  • Friday, February 14, 2020
  • Friday, February 28, 2020
  • Wednesday, March 11, 2020
  • Wednesday, March 18, 2020
  • Friday, March 27, 2020
  • Friday, April 3, 2020
  • Friday, April 10, 2020
  • Friday, April 17, 2020
  • Friday, April 24, 2020
  • Friday, May 1, 2020
  • Friday, May 8, 2020
  • Thursday, May 14, 2020
  • Friday, May 22, 2020
  • Friday, May 29, 2020
  • Friday, June 5, 2020
  • Friday, June 12, 2020
  • Friday, June 19, 2020
  • Friday, June 26, 2020
  • Monday, June 29, 2020
  • Monday, July 6, 2020
  • Friday, July 10, 2020

Disney After Hours Tips and StrategiesImage result for stage

  1. Decide if it's worth it- each group will be different but if you have a really short trip at Walt Disney World and your group is filled with night owls- then this can be a great way to enjoy a huge number of high ticket attractions without worrying about getting FastPasses! But if you have small children in your group or other members of your party that don't do well with late nights, then it might not be the best option.
  2. Arrive early- since your party ticket allows you entry to the park at 7PM plan on arriving at least 30 minutes in advance so you can be in line and ready to walk through those gates right at 7PM to utilize every second you can get.
  3. Use the hours prior to the party wisely- consult the list of attractions and events available during the party and make a note of what you want to do that is not on these lists. Use those few hours before the party officially starts to check those items off your list. This is also a great way to see the fireworks at Magic Kingdom since they usually begin before the party starts.
  4. Take advantage of the included food- since each Disney After Hours event comes with unlimited food and drink, take advantage and even grab a few extra bottles of beverages to take back to your hotel with you at the end of the night for the next day.
  5. Use this on an off day from the parks- if you plan on doing the Disney After Hours event then I suggest doing this ticketed event on a day you're not planning on using a regular park ticket. Spend the day sleeping in and relaxing at your hotel pool to rest up for the big night ahead.

Plan Your Walt Disney World Vacation!

For great tips on your overall Disney vacation, don't forget to sign-up for our newsletter.  You'll receive the latest news on everything Disney along with some shortcuts to help your vacation be the most magical ever!

Disclosure: We have used all the products recommended on Mickey Visit. We may receive compensation when you click on links to some products featured.

Leave a Comment